İstanbul Politikalar Merkezi  (2015)

Welcoming of the 2015/16 Mercator-IPC Fellows

Welcoming of the 2015/16 Mercator-IPC Fellows from Istanbul Policy Center on Vimeo.

The partners of the Istanbul Policy Center-Sabancı University-Stiftung Mercator Initiative held a welcoming event on October 5, 2015 for the 2015/2016 Mercator-IPC Fellowship Program at Feriye Restaurant in Istanbul. The fellowship program is a five-year strategic partnership between Sabancı University and Stiftung Mercator. The program aims to strengthen academic, political, and social ties between Turkey and Germany, as well as between Turkey and Europe, by facilitating excellent scientific research and hands-on policy work.

Fuat Keyman, Director of Istanbul Policy Center, opened the event by underlining the success of the Mercator-IPC Fellowship Program. He stressed the strength of the program in bringing together an international group of scholars to create fruitful and meaningful work. Keyman extended his gratitude to Güler Sabancı, Chairman of Sabancı University’s Board of Trustees, Nihat Berker, President of Sabancı University, Kemal Derviş, IPC Executive Board Member and Vice President of the Brookings Institution, Rüdiger Frohn, Chairperson of the Stiftung Mercator Advisory Board, Michael Schwarz, Executive Director of Stiftung Mercator, Anne Duncker, Director of the Center of International Affairs, as well as the staff of IPC and Stiftung Mercator.

Rüdiger Frohn then welcomed all guests and congratulated the new fellows on their work. He highlighted the success of the Mercator-IPC Initiative and stressed the importance of mutual understanding in meeting international challenges.

Subsequently, Assoc. Prof. Senem Aydın-Düzgit, Istanbul Bilgi University Jean Monnet Chair, asked 2014/2015 Senior Fellows Prof. Nilüfer Göle, Paris Ecole des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales, and Dr. Günter Seufert, Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik (SWP), as well as 2014/15 Fellows Barbara Pusch, Susanne Güsten, Ethemcan Turhan, Cenk Demiroğlu and Ayşe Ezgi Gürcan to come forward and share their most meaningful personal encounter during the fellowship.

Following the video introduction of the 2015/2016 Fellows, Çetin Çelik, Christiane Fröhlich, Peter Mock, Hande Paker, İlke Toygür, and Defne Kadıoğlu Polat, the event was concluded with a dinner reception.
- See more at: